The Pulitzer Prize Medal

The Pulitzer Prize Medal

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. medal awarded for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition. Above all, the Pulitzer Prize is an award medal of Distinction.

Categories: ,


Pulitzer Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one different categories, recipients having specifically displayed meritorious Distinction in their field of excellence.

In twenty of these categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash award. The Public Service category winner is awarded a gold medal, which always goes to a newspaper.

The Pulitzer Prize was established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher. Pulitzer founded the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and bought the New York World; and upon his death in 1911, he left money to Columbia University in New York City, which administers the prize. The first Pulitzer Prize was granted in 1917, and continues today as one of the most coveted awards in the world.

Famous recipients of the Pulitzer Prize include President John F. Kennedy, Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, Robert Frost, Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, and Rodgers and Hammerstein. Notable winners of more than one Pulitzer Prize include David McCullough, Robert Frost, Eugene O’Neil, Edward Albee, Norman Mailer, William Faulkner, and John Updike.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Pulitzer Prize Medal”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close Menu